Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

battery wires smoking/heating up on newly rewired v2 gearbox

:

Doctor's Corner

Old January 14th, 2013, 20:53   #1
airsoftjunky
a.k.a. evaboe

battery wires smoking/heating up on newly rewired v2 gearbox

As a complete noob in gearboxes, I need help. I have gotten comfortable enough in a gear box to try rewiring a gearbox from rear wired to front wired, but it went sour on me. I had a g&g gear box sitting around, so I wired it to the front and put it into my dboys m4. However, the battery connections get super hot really quick, and actually started smoking once! lol now i make no bones, this is a pretty ambitious project for my current skill level, I know, so please no flaming here. This is a practice run, if you will.
Back to the problem at hand. Im having trouble getting the motor to turn the gearbox. Did I shim the gearbox wrong? Everything seemed to turn fine before I put the motor back on. Is the motor not getting power due to the wires overheating? I'm totaly clueless here. what happens is the gear box cylcles properly a few times, then just stops. And yes, my battery is charged!
Help, anyone?
airsoftjunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2013, 21:06   #2
Canadian Psycho
Personal Mule.....PM for rates!

Send a message via MSN to Canadian Psycho
Are the wires connected correctly? Specifically between the trigger switch assembly and the motor.

Are the motor connectors to the proper polarity?

Provided the gearbox is internally good it would be wiring issues. The rapid heating/melting of wires is due to overload, either there is a short some where, or a wire is on the wrong location causing the motor to attempt to turn in reverse, hence, the jam and overload.
Old January 14th, 2013, 21:28   #3
airsoftjunky
a.k.a. evaboe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian Psycho View Post
Are the wires connected correctly? Specifically between the trigger switch assembly and the motor.