Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Picking a radio

:

Gear Discussion

Old March 28th, 2012, 14:00   #1
MrJangles

Picking a radio

Hello,

I'm completely new to airsoft. I was a paintball ref at paintball city back in the day and was always interested in the airsoft groups, how could you not with all of that gear?

Anyway, I've got everything I need to get on the field, minus a radio. What would you recommend for someone like myself?

Thanks!
MrJangles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2012, 14:03   #2
Danke

Find out what the other players in your area are running with first. Nothing worst than having a radio that doesn't run on the same frequency.

Then take a look at techseller's site on here. Once you have the radio picked out you'll probably want some sort of headset to plug into it also.
Old March 28th, 2012, 14:11   #3
MrJangles

Thanks. I already own a headset (single adapter) so I'll need something compatible with that.

I'll hold up for now until I get out to some events (waiting on age verification). I figured there were many options, and not something universal.
MrJangles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2012, 14:17   #4
Danke

It usually starts out with the bubble pack GMRS/FRS types. Then the next notch up is a programmable handheld out Asia with some options on what frequencies to make live. Then the last notch will be a dedicated police/fire/military handset used within a team net.
Old March 28th, 2012, 15:35   #5
Curo
Cobalt Caliber

Allot of people I play with run the radio frequency Techseller sells. I run PUXING brand radio and am satisfied. It's common enough for general play and is a great little radio.

The motorala 'walkie-talkies' can also be a good option aswell but that more for skirmish style players.

AFAIK Puxing radio's can be programmed to work with those 'walkie-talkies' aswell.

Last edited by Curo; March 28th, 2012 at 15:53..
Curo is offline   Reply With Quote