Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

systema electronics issues

:

AEG Solutions

Old January 17th, 2006, 03:44   #1
mcguyver

systema electronics issues

i had the opportunity to work on systema m16a3 PTW ver. 2 last week. the owner had several systemas that had failed due to a problem with the low-resistance switch assembly. the problem came to my attention as i have many years experience in the electronics and electrical field and started out as a discussion but progressed into me tearing open one of these beauties. here's what i found on the inside:

systema uses a low-resistance switch assembly couple with interlock switches for a realistic "bolt release/motor interrupt" circuit to lock out the motor when the mag is empty. the trigger is basically a microswitch that either sends voltage (or not) to certain electronic components to allow the motor to turn and fire the gun (or not, like when the mag is empty). one of these components is a circuit board in the stock of the gun that contains some transistors, resistors and a 20 amp fuse. this board connects directly to the battery and passes all the voltage and current necessary to operate the gun's motor and electronics. the basic operation is you select a fire mode, which sends voltage thru the "bolt release sensor" to the base terminal of the transistor and triggers the collector/emitter junction to close, thereby sending voltage and current to the motor, thus firing the gun.