Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

Airsoft vs Mother Nature(And more)

:

General

Old January 14th, 2008, 20:47   #1
Mad Dog

Airsoft vs Mother Nature(And more)

Hello there,
well first off, i'm pretty new to airsoft(Hence this being my first post) and i still have a few questions that remained un-anwsered. The most important question i have in mind is: Can airsoft be played under all temperature/weather, and what types of gun/rifle may be recommended for restricted uses under certain weather. Thanks in advance for your time and patience with a newbie to the sport!
Old January 14th, 2008, 20:51   #2
Andres

There are many partial answers to those questions, example uno would be "Can airsoft be played in the rain"

A thread on the subject'd be here:
http://airsoftcanada.com/showthread....t=airsoft+rain

and another: http://airsoftcanada.com/showthread....t=playing+rain
Andres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 20:55   #3
Tankdude

Can airsoft be played under all temperature/weather

Quick answer is yes with a but. Some batteries don't like it getting too cold and gas guns don't have the power at lower temperatures. Also some gas guns become over powered at higher temperatures. This is just a quick answer.

types of gun/rifle may be recommended for restricted uses under certain weather.

An AEG with a decently large battery is good for all weather. The only problem is some people report the cold (really cold) affecting the life of an upgraded gun.

As for me I use a stock TM M14 with a 8.4v 2400 mah battery and I can play anytime of the year.
Tankdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 20:57   #4
Donster

AEG can be used in all kinds of temperatures. gas guns on the other hand only work in mild to warm weather. if its too cold, the gas wont expand enough and you get a drop in velocity.
Donster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2008, 21:01   #5
Hades