Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Airsoft Guns Discussion
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

CR123A batteries?

:

Airsoft Guns Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 15th, 2010, 00:01   #1
Love
formerly Lythinca
 
Love's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: You know that Home Depot on King st? Yeah, no where near there.
Send a message via AIM to Love Send a message via MSN to Love
CR123A batteries?

Hey guys.

I have a TM Mp5 with tac-lite.

It has a 6v lamp, and my CR123A batteries died in it. (two 3.0v batts)

I'm looking for some rechargable ones, but websites like dealextreme and such, only have 3.7v rechargable CR123A's.

Will these 3.7V battries (making 7.4v total instead of 6v), kill my 6v lamp?
__________________
Currently modding AK.

Loadout 1:
Yugoslavian M76/Maadi RML Alternative (Kraken)
CYMA Glock 18C

Loadout 2:
TM MP5 w/ flashlight
CYMA Glock 18C

Both Loadouts have Marpat Uniform, PASGT Helmet w/ Flecktarn, and Flecktarn chest rig.
Love is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 00:03   #2
M.Garcia
M.Garcia
M.Garcia
M.Garcia
 
M.Garcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kitchener, ON
If it's 6V Lamp and you wanna put 7.4V in there, does that sound smart? Batteries are pretty simple and straight up. If the numbers don't match, don't make them try to match.
M.Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 00:05   #3
GBear
 
GBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waterloo, ON
Send a message via MSN to GBear
I spent way more than I should have on CR123A batteries. I went to the Source and bought packs of 2 CR123A Lithium batteries for around $17-21 a pack. I'm sure you can get them cheaper elsewhere.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chayce View Post
I wish I could upload a few gameplay videos of me on Alliance of Valiant Arms for you guys to compare to.

I am not familiar with airsoft.

What my question is, does the element of surprise work on a typical airsoft match?
GBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 00:07   #4
Love
formerly Lythinca
 
Love's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: You know that Home Depot on King st? Yeah, no where near there.
Send a message via AIM to Love Send a message via MSN to Love
Yea. Dealextreme has some "trustfire" ones for $2. 3.0v too. Non-rechargable.
__________________
Currently modding AK.

Loadout 1:
Yugoslavian M76/Maadi RML Alternative (Kraken)
CYMA Glock 18C

Loadout 2:
TM MP5 w/ flashlight
CYMA Glock 18C

Both Loadouts have Marpat Uniform, PASGT Helmet w/ Flecktarn, and Flecktarn chest rig.
Love is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 00:08   #5
GBear
 
GBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waterloo, ON
Send a message via MSN to GBear
Although expensive, the Lithiums are nice and will last you a LONG time. :P
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chayce View Post
I wish I could upload a few gameplay videos of me on Alliance of Valiant Arms for you guys to compare to.

I am not familiar with airsoft.

What my question is, does the element of surprise work on a typical airsoft match?
GBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 11:54   #6
baker_Jeff
 
baker_Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Panasonic 3v Lithium:

http://albertaairsoft.com/store/cate...id_category=67

Equals out to $7 per two pack.
__________________
Founder of Capital Airsoft in Edmonton

Out of the Game 04/22/16
baker_Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 21:25   #7
Kwokwai
 
Kwokwai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mississauga, ON
Send a message via ICQ to Kwokwai Send a message via MSN to Kwokwai Send a message via Yahoo to Kwokwai
Dealextreme has rechargeable 3.0v LiFePO4 batteries.

Batteries:
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1880

Charger:
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2031

I've got them and I'm using them in place of CR123 batteries.
Kwokwai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 12:35   #8
DarkAngel
* Age Verifier status suspended *
 
DarkAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scarborough
Send a message via MSN to DarkAngel
I would suggest people stop "suggesting" things they dont have any clue about.

Rechargable 3v CR123's are actually about 3.9v when fully Charged.
Adding up to 7.8v, completely blowing ou 6v assemblies.

I blew out one of my tac lite bulbs this way, and finding a replacement for THIS particular taclite is pretty much impossible.

It doesnt even say anything about it. Just that its 3v. Only after you read the fine print on the battery does it give a warning, about the higher voltage when fully charged. Its still advertised as a 3v.
__________________

Certified Sniper Clinic Instructor and Counter Sniper
Sentinel Arms Customs - Specializing In Unique, One of a kind guns
DarkAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 13:27   #9
surebet
Vicious MSPaint Wizard
 
surebet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Longueuil, Quebec
If you are willing to upgrade the bulb, rechargeable becomes an option, but a 6v bulb will die like DA said.

Since there are no TM MP5s that come stock with a light fore end, it would help to know just what is installed.

Most painless option would probably be to swap the light for a Surefire G2 and shove in a bulb that will take 7.2v+, if of course the threads of the ligt match a Surefire cap.
__________________
Annoyingly good with numbers

Stop American Censorship
surebet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 13:47   #10
coach
aka coachster
 
coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: T dot
or use one with a xenon bulb that has an operating voltage of 12-14v. so 4 non rechargeable 3v cr123's work as will 4 rechargeable 3.6v cr123's

most bulbs will have a bit of a buffer. no cr123's rechargeable or not come exactly at 3v or 3.6v

my last batch of non rechargeable cr123's all came in at 3.3v when tested.

I typically buy these: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.19769

These when I'm in a hurry: http://www.airsoftparts.ca/store2/in...roducts_id=262

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkAngel View Post

It doesnt even say anything about it. Just that its 3v. Only after you read the fine print on the battery does it give a warning, about the higher voltage when fully charged. Its still advertised as a 3v.
you should have known better though. lol
when you charge an AEG battery, it always holds a higher voltage then what the battery is rated for.




edit: I can't be bothered to get yet another charger. I have too many as it is!

Last edited by coach; July 16th, 2010 at 13:50..
coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 14:51   #11
DarkAngel
* Age Verifier status suspended *
 
DarkAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scarborough
Send a message via MSN to DarkAngel
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachster View Post
you should have known better though. lol
when you charge an AEG battery, it always holds a higher voltage then what the battery is rated for.
Yea.. I should have known better.
It just didnt occur to me till it was too late.

Im not griping about it to the op, The mistake was fully mine. Im just making absolutely sure and clear that noone else makes that mistake again.

Cause if any of you come back and post that it blew your light cause of this reason and complain and whine, Ill LAUGH at you for pages on end.

Really... I work in a cubicle... with 3 1/2 walls, doing repetitive mindnumbing work all day. Trust me... Ill LAUGH at you... Its the only sick and twisted pleasure ill get ALL day.
__________________

Certified Sniper Clinic Instructor and Counter Sniper
Sentinel Arms Customs - Specializing In Unique, One of a kind guns
DarkAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2010, 23:54   #12
SKI
 
SKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mississauga
That's fair. We laugh at you all the time. Hee hee.
__________________
www.ctmotorsports.ca
SKI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2010, 03:56   #13
surebet
Vicious MSPaint Wizard
 
surebet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Longueuil, Quebec
Further reading, aimed at a Surefire M3 but is a great stepping stone to other stuff:
M3 No Guilt Setup - CandlePowerForums

These guys know their lights...
__________________
Annoyingly good with numbers

Stop American Censorship
surebet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2010, 07:47   #14
DarkAngel
* Age Verifier status suspended *
 
DarkAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Scarborough
Send a message via MSN to DarkAngel
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKI View Post
That's fair. We laugh at you all the time. Hee hee.
*sniffle* they always told me they were laughing "with" me.
__________________

Certified Sniper Clinic Instructor and Counter Sniper
Sentinel Arms Customs - Specializing In Unique, One of a kind guns
DarkAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2010, 14:42   #15
Love
formerly Lythinca
 
Love's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: You know that Home Depot on King st? Yeah, no where near there.
Send a message via AIM to Love Send a message via MSN to Love
:3
__________________
Currently modding AK.

Loadout 1:
Yugoslavian M76/Maadi RML Alternative (Kraken)
CYMA Glock 18C

Loadout 2:
TM MP5 w/ flashlight
CYMA Glock 18C

Both Loadouts have Marpat Uniform, PASGT Helmet w/ Flecktarn, and Flecktarn chest rig.
Love is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Airsoft Guns Discussion

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.