Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Doctor's Corner
Home Forums Register Gallery FAQ Calendar
Retailers Community News/Info International Retailers IRC Today's Posts

WE ak74u GBB low FPS

:

Doctor's Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 30th, 2012, 21:44   #1
Epidemic_
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brantford
WE ak74u GBB low FPS

Got the npas upgrade, have that installed and full i'm assuming open is shooting at about 200 fps, full or almost full closed is lightly propelling the bbs out of the barrel about 2 inches. My friend thinks it has something to do with the hopup or an improper seal somewhere around the npas upgrade.
__________________
Feeble humans. Let us give you, our power. Soon, you'll become unable to resist this, intoxicating power.
Epidemic_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2012, 21:59   #2
HKGhost
 
HKGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, ON
have you tried adjusting the NPAS?
__________________
Please email me as I'm not on ASC too often.

Custom Build | Upgrades | Repairs | Maintenance
Contact: ghostgunwork@gmail.com / Private Message
HKGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2012, 22:03   #3
Epidemic_
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brantford
Yes, i'm not sure which increases the fps with it, open or closed, but it shoots 200ish fps or lightly propels the bb a couple inches out of the gun. And if i take the npas out, it is way too hot to play with.
__________________
Feeble humans. Let us give you, our power. Soon, you'll become unable to resist this, intoxicating power.

Last edited by Epidemic_; August 30th, 2012 at 22:06..
Epidemic_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2012, 22:10   #4
Ross
 
Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Winnipeg
Well crank it all the way clockwise, and then chrono it. If it's still dribbling bbs then crank it all the way counter-clockwise and chrono it again. If it still dribbles bbs, then your hop up is all the way on, your npas is not installed correctly, or you are not properly adjusting the npas. Inspect the nozzle for cracks.
__________________
Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2012, 22:12   #5
Epidemic_
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brantford
thanks i'll try messing with the hopup, though i think its pretty well central. Problem with adjusting the npas is it rotates when using the key, so i either need to dismantle it all the way down to the kit or jam something in to hold it while i turn the key.
__________________
Feeble humans. Let us give you, our power. Soon, you'll become unable to resist this, intoxicating power.

Last edited by Epidemic_; August 30th, 2012 at 22:15..
Epidemic_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 00:34   #6
HKGhost
 
HKGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, ON
To adjust it, use a flat head or something else to hold the housing in place as you turn the key. Turn off your hop up to get an accurate FPS reading.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epidemic_ View Post
thanks i'll try messing with the hopup, though i think its pretty well central. Problem with adjusting the npas is it rotates when using the key, so i either need to dismantle it all the way down to the kit or jam something in to hold it while i turn the key.
__________________
Please email me as I'm not on ASC too often.

Custom Build | Upgrades | Repairs | Maintenance
Contact: ghostgunwork@gmail.com / Private Message
HKGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 02:32   #7
turok_t
 
turok_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
IIRC, you had to mod the nozzle so the NPAS works properly. I know I had to do it for a few guns
turok_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 10:16   #8
Epidemic_
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brantford
Npas is installed properly, but not getting any info on modding it for the ak74 anywhere.
__________________
Feeble humans. Let us give you, our power. Soon, you'll become unable to resist this, intoxicating power.
Epidemic_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 10:43   #9
Fox62
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epidemic_ View Post
Npas is installed properly, but not getting any info on modding it for the ak74 anywhere.
Yep. A friend of mine got his AK PMC a while ago. Same problem. We're now trying to find a way to reduce the FPS with different floating valve springs, the problem is that too light a spring will make the gun inconsistent, this is because the relatively large amount of gas needed to cycle this gun will move flimsy/lighter springs around and make the closing of the valve insoncistent; so we're exploring different options to make it skirmishable. But for some reason, the OB NPAS does NOT work on the WE AK's, apparently it will work as if even in the closed (highest) setting, it was already too long to have any kind of considerable travel.


Fox.

Last edited by Fox62; August 31st, 2012 at 17:26..
Fox62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 13:20   #10
HKGhost
 
HKGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, ON
It's the same mod done on the M4 and SCAR. Cut the two little tabs when the nozzle is apart, then cut a new one lower. Or cut an X like in the M14 nozzle. There's guides on this on RAtech's website.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epidemic_ View Post
Npas is installed properly, but not getting any info on modding it for the ak74 anywhere.
__________________
Please email me as I'm not on ASC too often.

Custom Build | Upgrades | Repairs | Maintenance
Contact: ghostgunwork@gmail.com / Private Message
HKGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 13:40   #11
Ross
 
Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Winnipeg
Hmm. I didn't have to mod my npas for my scar....
__________________
Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 13:58   #12
Boyso
a.k.a. LastSpartan
 
Boyso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Qu├ębec city
Send a message via MSN to Boyso
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross View Post
Hmm. I didn't have to mod my npas for my scar....
Depends of your barrel lenght.
__________________
NEW BACON FOR SALE!

"WHEN I DIE
BURY ME
UPSIDE DOWN
SO THE WORLD
CAN KISS MY ASS"
-Platoon

Boyso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2012, 16:29   #13
TPM001
 
TPM001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
The NPAS valve is not a drop-in installation. The NPAS sits too far forward inside the nozzle which is why you are getting low fps readings. The nozzle requires modification so the the NPAS is in the proper position.

See this post:

http://www.airsoftcanada.com/showpos...&postcount=132
TPM001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2012, 00:50   #14
Epidemic_
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brantford
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPM001 View Post
The NPAS valve is not a drop-in installation. The NPAS sits too far forward inside the nozzle which is why you are getting low fps readings. The nozzle requires modification so the the NPAS is in the proper position.

See this post:

http://www.airsoftcanada.com/showpos...&postcount=132
Thanks, this will be very helpful if i get the confidence to attempt this without wrecking it....tomorrow before my cqc game....lol
__________________
Feeble humans. Let us give you, our power. Soon, you'll become unable to resist this, intoxicating power.
Epidemic_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 19:26   #15
DMB90
 
DMB90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: GTA
Thanks TPM001. You saved me a lot of trouble. With this MOD it now varies 340 to 400fps.
DMB90 is offline   Reply With Quote
ReplyTop


Go Back   Airsoft Canada > Discussion > Doctor's Corner

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Airsoft Canada
http://triggerairsoft.com/shop/

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.