Airsoft Canada

Airsoft Canada (https://airsoftcanada.com/forums.php)
-   SWAT/Police (https://airsoftcanada.com/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   New to airsoft and need some help with my first loadout. (https://airsoftcanada.com/showthread.php?t=103739)

Nielsen May 7th, 2010 18:29

New to airsoft and need some help with my first loadout.

Alright, so this section seems rather dead, and I wasn't sure if I should post in another thread, or start my own. Obviously I decided on the latter, so you can give me hell if I shouldn't have heh. Lots of the links in here, being years old, are all dead so they didn't help too much. Hopefully a new thread will get this section bumpin again!

Anyways, as I said, I'm new to airsoft, and never really followed anything military/police/etc. Basically, I'm going to post a picture of the loadout I'm shooting for, and any suggestions on the gear I should get would be greatly appreciated. So here we go:

http://www.stevedemmitt.com/uploads/SWAT_Front.jpg

Now, I'm not going to have the EXACT same look (I already ordered Revision Desert Locust goggles, and black Oakley Pilot gloves), but the rest I'm going to try and be accurate with. The vest is probably my most important concern. Looking on Ebay has been my best result so far, with the Pantac vest:

http://www.airsoft-shop.com/images/VT-P923-BK-A_L.jpg

Are these vests worth the $100something? Is there a cheaper, but still quality alternative? Also, in the picture he seems to have some sort of protective sleeves? Should I avoid them? Do they restrict movement too much? Next would probably be the helmet. I was looking around on eHobby and found two different PASGT replicas, one made of steel and one made of "Made of Light & Condense Material". Is there a better option in terms of comfort?